Why are people so rude ?

So we have a great website that is brining all kinds traffic for people to look at homes. Last night we get a new buyer who listed they have an agent. Our standard reply is GREAT but our site is for clients/ prospects that intend to work with us. We encouraged him to contact his agent ( that he said he had) for property information.

The reply we got was insane. He was livid that we were going to take him off

He said
Are you serious? You advertised online and what you are saying is that unless I use you I will not be permitted to view this site, What happens if i am a buyer that may want to buy one of your listings. I have retained a copy of this email and have the addresses fir these sellers. I bet these sellers do not care if I use you or not. I am sure that part of your advertising sales pitch for the listing includes this kind of advertising without the sellers knowing that your advertisements are discretionary to only people that work with you.

I have several Realtor in my life both family and friends….. and though many of the laws have changed i too held a license at one time. I did forward this to several of them and theay( spelled wrong by them) all laughed and could not believe the way it was written, BTW you might want to work on your grammar and spelling as well. Trust me Im not a complete idiot and I do know what a customer is vs a client, I know what a buyer brokerage agreement is. Oh, I i…..

This is where we cut him off. This person feels that we should have an open book and offer free services to everyone. What we said to him was he would not be able to use the site as a signed client. The internet is FULL of places to view homes. Also if they need to see homes they need to contact that agent they said they had. Our CODE OF ETHICS tell us we cannot work with or have substantial conversation with someone who tells us they have an agent !

We also found his Facebook and myspace profile and wouldn’t you know it in the bio he states he likes to piss people off.

SO what do you think ? Are we right or wrong buy allowing potential clients who are not in a relationship with an agent to use the site with full rights. Anyone can search the site they just cant create a log in and profile.

