The foster care system

Im pretty certain many of my blog readers don’t know this about me. I was a foster kid in the late 70’s and 80’s. My mom was a single parent and sought out the services for me and my 3 sisters. There are so many stories to tell about that time in my life and maybe one day Ill share them. For no I want to have my voice heard over a death of a child while in the Foster care system here in Virginia Beach.

I can only speak to my experience in the system and the 1st family I was placed with. It was horrible I was only about 5 and I still remember the mental abuse from these “parents”. It felt like I was trash to them. I was a 2nd class person while there children were more important and could do no wrong. I don’t know how long I was in that home but my 2nd family was amazing. I was in a loving christian home with 3 brothers. I felt safe and loved.

Reading about this child Braxton Taylor who dies at the hands of his protector disgust me. This child could not speak for him self and when his biological mother pleaded for help it was ignored.

See I think this system is very broken If what was going on in the late 70’s and 80’s is still going on today. Id love to know how they check these people out, how often do they follow up and how often is the child examined for abuse. This baby was loosing weight and had bruises. Why was that not looked at. How did it get over looked ?

Ill never know what happened to that first family or the children that were placed there after me. I only know 33 years later I still harbor pain and confusion. I was only 5 years old.

My 3 older sisters have more horrible stories then I do Im thankful I was so small only a few memories remain.

