For many years the colors were  warm and hues of hunter green, burnt orange and taupe. We had a bar height wrought iron two-person table, and bakers rack.
When we finally got pregnant I decided enough was enough. We needed to have something we can all sit at and eat dinner.

It took a while to finally have it come together and here’s the results.

   
    
 
Some elements that I love the most about my kitchen are the cabinet doors with a barn shaped silhouettes.

The cedar shake soffit is definitely a unique touch. I had to be very intentional not to create a country kitchen but something a little more cottage and subtle. My paint color is “watery” and my cabinets are painted with white chalk paint. I would like to change out the tile to granite but the warmth of the terra-cotta does blend nicely with the wood center island.   

    
    
   

The buffet  was a steal because it was being tossed out and we rescued it. This piece of furniture was originally in my older daughters room. Then went to my nursery with a changing table attached to the top. 

Now it’s final resting spot it’s on my kitchen.

My coffee cup holder was from Southern living, when they were doing the party events. The utensil holder are IKEA planters. The metal breadbox was drifted and I have plans to have it painted a complementary kitchen color.

Share with me your decorating ideas. I love to see things being used differently than intended. I’m also a sucker for recycling and up cycling.

