I can’t stand wasting food. However I’m not a big fan of leftovers.

What I do enjoy is reinventing leftovers into something else.

Tonight we have chicken soup.

I make my own bone broth by cooking chicken bones in the crockpot for up to two days. This really gives a strong depth of flavor and gets all of the nutrients out. If you haven’t made your own chicken stock you definitely have to try it.

First thing I did was cut up an onion and sautéed it in a little bit of butter. Thrn added 1/3 cup of flour after the onions were translucent and continued to cook 1-2 min. Adding your flower like this helps avoid clumps.

Next I poured in 1 cup of chicken stock and continue to stir until it thickens.

Next added about 3 cups of the chicken stock.

I tossed in three diced white potatoes, and about a cup of green peas.

Then the chicken.

For flavorings I used parsley, garlic, thyme,sage, salt and pepper.

I let this simmer on the stove for about an 30 mins.

