Shopping for kids today sometimes is a nightmare.  I love some of the stores like Old Navy, Gap and even Target. But I don’t want my little to wear the exact same things as all of her friends. Searching online for a good pattern for shorts I came across this free pattern from Oliver +S.

With a few extra elements I was able to take what appeared to be a boys style short and make it more feminine.

My daughter is going into a size 6 T and the pattern fits her just right.

It’s hard to find patterns where the crotch and rise sit properly so these are definitely patterned perfectly for her body size and shape.

Sunny day shorts by Oliver + Simg_1019

This was the 1st test for sizing.They weren’t perfect but I was very happy with the way they turned out.

The floral pair I added decorative stitching and bows. They are also a bit shorter on the inseam.

The bows and arrows are much shorter in the inseam. I also pulled the waistband all the way down. This decreased the crotch rise and fit much better on her. I added pockets to match the band.

Using my Juki I serger and Janome Memory Craft 1100 these shorts was a breeze to make. Don’t forget that the inside of the shorts looks just as nice as the outside.

