Exodus 20:8 8 “Remember the Sabbath day by keeping it holy. (9 )Six days you shall labor and do all your work, (10 )but the seventh day is a sabbath to the LORD your God. On it you shall not do any work, neither you, nor your son or daughter, nor your male or female servant, nor your animals, nor any foreigner residing in your towns.
Its funny as aI write this blog at 530 am Im wondering will I ever be a person who truly “rest”?  This was one of the messages in service yesterday. Sitting there listening to our pastor my mind started to dig into what this means. I am almost certain there was more to this message but I was not able to get this off my mind.  I have been seeking REST- PEACE- CALM and well its not easy for me. 

Finding Rest
God commanded us to rest

During his service while I should have been listening, all I could do is to jot notes down and process . REST= a biblical commandment …….. WOW to think of it in a way that GOD knew we needed to STOP- RECOVER- REGROUP.  I have not been planning or taking vacations on a regular for sometime now. We take a little time here and there but nothing consistent as a family. It made me think about all the business planning I do and well the REST part seems to take a back seat to the money part.

I take Monday off to stay at home with my daughter. Im supposed to play with her and enjoy the day but I always seem to feel the need to do , create, work , grown , learn , build. I never enjoy the quite moments of play that my brain so desperately needs. God commanded us to take the sabbath day and rest-  but what does that really mean ?

I think every 6 months a  vacation- Every 60 min of work 10 min of rest- every 6 years a BIGGER vacation. When we goal plan in a business I was taught PLAN your rest period just like you plan your work goals.  I am going to do a better job of this … PLANNING to rest, relax, let the stress of the to do list go and enjoy the moment. 

I feel like my brain does not know how to be at peace. Im always seeking a new sewing project, craft or creative growth when I should be allowing my brain and body to REST.

Even as I write this Im thinking I shoul be asleep resting for the day. 

